August 14, 2009 at Country Club of York

York County Junior Golf Association
vs. Lancaster County Junior Golf Tour

Comments - Junior War of the Roses, August 14, 2009

Below is the link for the complete results of the 6th Annual Junior War of the Roses Golf Matches held at the Country Club of York. The annual matches is a team match play competition between the top junior golfers from the York County Junior Golf Association and the Lancaster County Junior Golf Tour. Lancaster repeated as champions with a 16 - 8 victory. The 36 hole event, which is played as a Ryder Cup style event ultizes three different formats. The Four-ball (better ball) matches in the morning were split 3 to 3. Competition continued with Foursomes (alternate shot) which saw Lancaster grab a commanding lead by wining 5 to 1. In the afternoon singles matches, Lancaster dominated winning 8 of 12 matches. John Kitsock, Craig Hornberger, Dan McCrudden and Devin O'Grady led the Lancaster Team by going undefeated in all three formats. Brandon Greenplate was the lone York player to win all three matches. Next year's competition will travel back across the river to the Conestoga Country Club.

Click Here for a pdf of the final results.

This event concludes the 2009 LCJGT event schedule. It is my and the Board of Directors hope that players and spectators had a rewarding experience playing the game that you can play your whole life - GOLF. We really enjoy running these tournaments and all find it personally satisfying. Thanks a million to all of our parental volunteers who helped in so many ways this summer. Your voluntary efforts really make these events work!

If there are questions, comments or suggestions, please email us at the link on this website, and we'll offer you a response. We'd like to hear your feedback.

Have a great fall, winter and spring, and we'll see you on the links next summer!

Skip Walters
LCJGT Tournament Director

2009 Junior War of the Roses
Lancaster Team
Seniors Juniors
Andrew Arnold Tyler Shank
Craig Hornberger John Kitsock
Dan McCrudden Ryan Dornes
Brady Goodling Tuck Ryan
Bobby Stengel
Jason Sauder
Brett Pickell
Devin O'Grady
Co-captains: Ben Rowe & Zak Drescher